Grand Prix Chantal Biya: Clovis Abessolo Overall Best

Grand Prix Chantal Biya

Cameroonian cyclist, Clovis Kamzong Abessolo of the SNH Velo Club is the champion of the 17th edition of the Chantal Biya International Cycling race which ended last October 15 in Yaounde.

The professional cyclist was designated overall best after covering a total distance of 579.3 Km in 14 hours 33 minutes 07 seconds.

The runner-up Slovakian born Cully J.A of Dukla Baska Bystrica, who won the first lap of the race covered the same distance of 579.3 Km in 14 hours 33 minutes 10 seconds to finish second. Martin Mahdar from the Slovakia finished third. 

Despite winning the last lap, Bellan Juraj could not grabbed the yellow jersey as he was far from being the overall best. Dielissen Bart from Global Cycling in Netherlands came second in the lap results while Richet Noel from France, finished third.

Meanwhile, Cully Jan Andrej from Slovakia received the White Jersey for being the best youth cyclist in the competition while the prize of the best team of the competition went to Dukla Banska Bystrica of Slovakia.Special Prizes from Cameroon’s First Lady, Chantal Biya were handed to all participating teams.

Speaking to The Post after the final 165km lap between Sangmalima and Yaounde, the Commissioner of the race Jean Pierre Coppenolle expressed satisfaction with the organization. ’’There is great improvement this year in terms of the organization,” he stated.

Abessolo succeeds Martial Roman, the winner of the 16th edition of the tour which since 2006, has been part of the agenda of the “Africa Tour” initiated by the International Cycling Union, UCI. Abessolo’s victory ends Cameroon starvation of not winning the competition after Yves Ngue Ngock won in 2013

The 17th edition of Chantal Biya International Cycling race had so many innovations including, the prologue that took place at the esplanade of the Omnisport stadium. Also, the town of Ayos in Nyong-and-Mfoumou Division of the Center Region witnessed the first stage of the race.

Ten teams took part in the 17th edition, including two local, five African and five European clubs.Beside Cameroon and France with two teams each during the race, Ivory Coast, Benin, Democratic Republic of Congo, Congo Brazzaville, Slovakia and Holland all presented a team each.

It should be noted that, the first lap between Yaounde and Ayos (125km), Cully J.A was crowned winner while the second lap Yaounde-Ebolowa (155.3km), was won by Clovis Kamzong Abessolo. RobertFozing Dassie emerged as winner of the third stage, Zoetele (Ngolbang)-Meyomessala (134km), while the last lap between Sangmelima-Yaounde (165km), was won by Bellan Juraj


Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone