AFCON 2015: Cameroon Draws Ivory Coast, Guinea and Mali

Lions train in Tunisia ahead of match with Libya (Photo Camfoot)

Lions train in Tunisia ahead of match with Libya (Photo Camfoot)

The Lions of Cameroon will play in Group D of the 2015 AFCON in Equatorial Guinea against the Ivory Coast, Guinea Conakry and Mali, following the draws that took place on Wednesday, December 3, at the Sipopo Convention Centre in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea.

Cameroon will first play against Mali, then the Ivory Coast and finally against Guinea. The group is based in Malabo, capital of Equatorial Guinea.

Meanwhile the group of death has been attributed to group C, with four time winners of the competition, Ghana to confront former winners Algeria and South Africa and an in-formed Senegal. The group will be based in the small mainland town of Mongomo closed to the border with Gabon.

Host Equatorial Guinea plays in Group A in the mainland city of Bata and will try to negotiate a way to the knockout phase from familiar foes and neighbours Gabon, Congo and Burkina Faso, the lone West Africa team in the pool.

Group B teams Zambia, DR Congo, Tunisia and Cape Verde will take up base in the town of Ebibeyin close to the common border between Cameroon, Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.

The opening encounter will see host Equatorial Guinea take on Congo Brazzaville on January 17 2015. The draws also brought out some intriguing outcomes. Both Cameroon and the Ivory Coast and Gabon and Burkina Faso in groups D and A respectively, emerged from the same qualifying groups. There will be no debutant in this edition of the competition, with Cape Verde and Equatorial Guinea making only their second appearance in the tournament.

The 2015 AFCON will be dominated by West African sides that boast of seven teams, Central African region with 5 teams and both North and Southern Africa with two teams each. Group A and D are direct opposites, with Group made up of 3 Central African sides and one West African team and group D with the lone central African side Cameroon surrounded by 3 West African sides.  Another peculiarity of the 2015 AFCO is that the defending champions Nigeria will not be present to defend the title.

The competition will run from January 17 to February 8, 2015.

By Ako Emmanuel

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone